Celie…I can taste your tears.

Numb.
I am numb.

When I do feel,
It is pain.
Which rushes in like ocean waves
And slam into me,
Then ebb away
Until again,
I am numb.

My fingers have no feeling.
They are sticks extending from my palms.
My tongue can taste no food.
A useless organ taking up space
In my mouth.
It’s in the way.

You are gone.

Your bed is empty.
Your voice…not here.
Your sense of humor,
absent.
YourFaceYourLaughYourSmell…

Not.
Here.

I am alive,
But do not live.
I breathe.
But don’t know why.

The fruit of my body is absent.

What God has given,
Man has taken away.

And left me numb.

Celie,
Celie, I know what you felt
When your father took your children.

That maddening
Sickening
Powerless
Weight
Of emptiness in your arms.

When selfish forces
Thrust
Myopic will
On one
More
Victim.

Celie…
Someone’s crying.
Is it you?
Or me?
Or both of us?

Celie,
I can hear
And taste
Your tears.

Leah

Leave a Reply

