Your Name

Your name
Feels so good on my lips
When I say it.

It has a presence in there.
Filling my mouth,
but not too much,
With the essence of you.

It fits.
Like Baby Bear’s things,
In that fairy tale with the girl
Who learns a lesson –
His porridge, his chair, his bed
They were just right.

When I speak your name it rests
Round and soft
On the center of my tongue,
Tasting like a wafer
Mildly sweet,
Dissolving,
spreading over the surface slowly…
To fill my mouth with its flavor,

I close my eyes,
Enjoy its savor,
Of Warm. Buttery. Caramel.

Gentle man,
Oh, how I love
Your name.

Leave a Reply

