Listen…

image

Listen to your heart,
But it isn’t the master.
Your mind is.
Even so,
I remember the turning point.

Almost to the moment,  I remember,
The day I realized how much a part of me this love really was.

He could be in my house, I would love.
He could be miles away,
I would harbor love, still.
He could be quiet, love would listen for when he decided to speak.
And then, the utter bliss…
He could lie in my arms and love would weep silently inside of me, grateful for the privilege to express itself in the physical realm, outside of my soul.
And I knew.
I knew in my belly,  where truth is revealed, in the inward parts,
I knew that I was the luckiest woman in the world.

The heart will never Un-feel.
Learn to roll with the waves, soft and gentle, fierce and crashing, and tidal.
They are a part of loving.
An ingredient in every life well-lived.
An ingredient inside of you.

From my favorite book:

“I had not intended to love him;
the reader knows I had wrought hard to extirpate from my soul the germs of love there detected;
and now,
>at the first renewed view of him,<
they spontaneously revived, great and strong!
He made me love him without looking at me."

Charlotte Brontë
_Jane Eyre_

Leave a Reply

