-The Uncertain Sun-

A cold day
In January,
Thursday,
In the morning,
Driving East
Down a two-lane country road.

The river, South
A ribbon of ice.
The lake
Not far ahead,
Beneath the sun
Which hovered in the air
As if
Uncertain
Of
its task.

When suddenly
With no warning,
I saw your face.

I saw you
As vividly
As if
you
had
been
standing
Right In front of me.

Your expression –
One of concentration,
focused energy.
One of my favorites.

Again
I saw
Affection glow
Behind your eyes
For me.

And I Loved you.

Purely. Powerfully. Completely.
At that moment.

I recalled
That you
Would slip into that mode,
Sometime,
During quiet portions
We would slice
From the pastry
of a day,
Feeling
like we had stolen
Something sweet,
For only us
To taste.

And I Missed you.
Purely. Powerfully. Completely.
At that moment.

For we were separated.

Not by miles.

Those can be traversed. Consumed.
Erased.

We were separated by a chasm –
The span of years,
The depth of choice.
Decisions,
Will,
And, What…?
Mistakes?

The car,
Unaware,
Of the miracle inside itself
Continued to carve its way
Through the thick wintry air,
White
And frigid
With the cold.

While I looked
Upon your face.

And longed
To press my lips
Hard
Against your mouth
So you would know
The reality
Of what lived –
Within my breast,
Thrived –
Within my heart.

But the chasm
Was too great.

So deep.
So wide.
Therefore, I wept.

Hot tears shimmered
Blurring your mirage
As I drove
Down the two-lane country road
In the snow.
With the river to my right
And the lake not far ahead

Beneath
The
Un-
Certain
Sun.

ajp

Leave a Reply

