Whom are you loving today?

There was a time in my life when I was at a crossroads, and a friend taught me by her example, how to love someone.

It was a most unhappy time when a choice begged to be made – things could not continue as they were – changes needed to happen. I was at a loss for what to do.  I was in pain – struggling to find logic and reason – all while in the midst of a storm.  The wind was whipping about, no clear direction lay before me.  I was at the point of despair, for both decisions would cause fall-out in the lives around me.

Like Ripples on a Pond, the effects would be far reaching...

I knew there would be ramifications that would extend far beyond my vision – like ripples on a pond or a lake.  We have all tossed a pebble in, or skipped stones and watched the circles radiate along the water from the point of contact to some point beyond, depending on the strength of the impact.  Well, I was about to climb to the top of a hill and roll a boulder into the water.  After the devastating splash, the ripples were going to go further than I could imagine.

 

 

I was at the point of desperation.  I could not endure the heartbreak any longer, so I decided to confide in one friend … everything.
Oh, sure, women talk. We tell each other about what we are going through all the time, but we are careful with the big stuff. We keep that to ourselves, because we need to be accepted by “the pack”.
No one wants to lose their place in their circle of friends.

At the risk of rejection and judgment I shared my dilemma.

I told my friend

Every.

Single.

Thing.

It was frightening.  I was taking a risk, for I loved her dearly.  She was the one person Ihad chosen, out of all of my friends and confidants, after all.  To lose her esteem was almost more than I could bear, but I chose to risk it to receive her wisdom. I needed it.

I needed her.

I shared the good path and the bad. I hid nothing from her, and then I waited – almost wincing my eyes – for the reaction. 
Do you know what she said to me?

No matter what you choose, I will be your friend. 
I will be there for you, and I will support you. 
I
am your friend.

And tears of shame and relief poured out of me.

Sometimes a person comes along in your life and leaves imprints on your soul. Fingerprints on your heart. No. Not mere fingerprints. Indentations.

I learned something that day that I will never forget.

I learned that there is a place in your soul so deep that even you may not know it exists.

– A location tucked so far from view, that you have no idea it is there.

 Until…

Until a very special someone reaches that depth with

One.

Loving.

Act.

They take a stone of their own – Love – and they drop it into that well within you, that seemingly bottomless pit that you didn’t even know was there, and when it lands on the bottom, you are suddenly aware of its existence.  I was loved so purely at that moment.  My soul was nourished like never before.  She freely gave unconditional love whose richness and depth I had always sensed, but had never truly known.  

Do you know what is beautiful?

When she exposed its existence, this depth of need within me, she simultaneously fortified me to the extent that nothing on the planet could shake the foundation of my security.
From that moment on, my footing was sure, for she had seen me at my worst and I was not rejected. 

She also gave me my choice.

Free will. 

No matter what I decided – I knew she would be there.
Do you know who this reminds me of?

God, of course.

Jesus.

What is True Christianity?
Who among us are truly Christlike?
Was it not the Lord who gave us free will?
Was it not the Lord who sent His Son, “while we were yet sinners.”?

What did Jesus say? He who bore our sins and not his own…

“But a certain Samaritan, as he journeyed, came where he (an injured traveler) was: and when he saw him, he had compassion on him, and went to him, and bound up his wounds, pouring in oil and wine, and set him on his own beast, and brought him to an inn, and took care of him.  And on the morrow when he departed, he took out two pence, and gave them to the host, and said unto him, Take care of him; and whatsoever thou spendest more, when I come again, I will repay thee.”

Jesus continues – addressing a man who asked Him who is “neighbor” was, “Which now of these three, thinkest thou, was neighbour unto him that fell among the thieves?  And he said, He that shewed mercy on him. Then said Jesus unto him, Go, and do thou likewise.”

 
Perhaps you are thinking, “Well that was a person who was wounded innocently. He was not in willful sin, and many are in trouble today because of their own foolish choices.”

Allow me to bring to your remembrance another situation that Jesus put himself in;  curiously, involving a person from Samaria again; A place and a people not respected by those to whom Jesus was speaking.

Jesus, offering a woman unconditional love and living water.

You will find this story in the Book of John, chapter four. Jesus sits at a well, and asks a woman, who comes to draw water, for a drink. She is stunned that he would even speak to her.  There is racism even then, and she expects it from Him, not knowing who He is.
He eventually shares with her that He knows she’s been married multiple times and that the man with whom she currently lives isn’t her husband at all.  He then offers her living water.  No lecture. No condemnation. No words of scolding. No self-help literature, and no counseling session to determine why she finds herself in so many short-term relationships. Just Living Water. Eternal Life.
Unconditional Love and Acceptance to a person who has apparently never had either.

While He made it clear that He knew what she was doing,  He did not condemn her or point out all of the spiritual laws she was breaking. If anyone had the right to, it would have been Him.  Instead He offered her a choice.
Do you know why?

She already knew she was wrong.
Just like your friends know whether they are right or wrong.
They don’t need you to tell them.

Your friends don’t need lectures, and they don’t need your criticism.
What they need, dear heart, is You.

A good Samaritan.  
A neighbor.
A friend.

Take care, dear ones, when someone puts their trust in you.

The human heart is fragile.
It is a tiny bird that trembles; delicate bones beneath feathers – so easily broken.

You will make a difference to someone.
My question to you is, “What type of difference will you make?”

Whom are you loving today?

Songbird, by Eva Cassidy.

As you listen to this, remember, there is ONE who loves you
more than you could possibly imagine,
and He offers you living water ♥.
Today.

 

Leah

Leave a Reply

